Austin Elite Rugby vs Toronto Arrows: MLR Preview

Austin Elite Rugby hosts the Toronto Arrows on Friday, February 8 at 7 pm CST at Dell Diamond in Round Rock, Texas. Tickets are available for the match and for those who can’t attend, Watch live on Austin Elite Rugby Facebook Watch.

Both teams are seeking their first win of the season. Austin Elite Rugby is 0-2 after a 21-20 loss to the Houston SaberCats and a 17-9 loss to the Utah Warriors. The Toronto Arrows are 0-1 after losing to NOLA Gold in week one 36-31.

Austin Elite Rugby Head Coach has made three changes to his starting XV with Uruguay National team fullback joining the team and gaining his first start. Simon Courcoul and Reece Czarnecki will start at loosehead prop and wing, respectively.

Toronto Arrows head coach Chris Silverthorn has made seven changes in his starting XV, many the result of National Team ARC commitments for Canada. Their two Uruguay National team players are also playing in the ARC.

There are four changes in the forwards with Morgan Mitchell, Josh Van Horne, Marcello Wainwright, and Kolby Francis starting at tighthead prop, lock, flanker, and No.8 respectively. In the backs, Johnny Sheridan and Avery Oitomen are the wings and Shawn Windsor the fullback.

Pat Lynott, Tome Dolezel, Tom Van Horne, Mike Smith, and Mitch Richardson join the reserves.


Austin Elite Rugby: 1 Simon Courcoul 2 Tiaan Strauss Erasmus 3 Mason Pedersen 4 Ben Mitchell (C) 5 Rikus Zwart 6 Kyle BreytenbachDominique Bailey 8 Travis Larsen 9 Marcelo Torrealba 10 Timothée Guillimin 11 Soheyl Jaoudat 12 Sione Fangaiuiha13: Zinzan Elan-Puttick (VC) 14 Reece Czarnecki 15 Rodrigo Sliva 16 Brendan Rams 17 LaRome White 18 Dylan Pieterse 19  Craig Welborn 20 Mickaël Romera 21 Alex Faison Donahoe 22 Andrew Suniula 23 Chris Schade + Head Coach Alain Hyardet

Toronto Arrows: 1 Rob Brouwer 2 AJ Quattrin 3 Morgan Mitchell  4 Josh Van Horne 5 Paul Ciulini 6 Peter Milazzo 7 Marcello Wainwright 8 Kolby Francis 9 Andrew Ferguson 10 Sam Malcolm 11 Johnny Sheridan 12 Spencer Jones 13 Dan Moor (C) 14 Avery Oitomen 15 Shawn Windsor 16 Steven Ng 17 Pat Lynott 18 Tom Dolezel 19 Tom Van Horne 20 Mike Smith 21 Riley DiNardo 22 Mitch Richardson 23 Jack Evans

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include TwitterInstagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant