NOLA Gold Rugby Face Midwest Selects

NOLA Gold Rugby will face the Midwest Select in their third Major League Rugby exhibition match on January 5 at 2 pm CT at Gold Stadium. Preceding the match NOLA Gold Academy will play at Noonagainst 5785 U-19 Rugby. The Match will be streamed by Gift-time Rugby Network on their Facebook page.

Many of NOLA Gold internationals are now in town and as the 2019 MLR season draws near on January 26. The match provides the opportunity for the team to gain cohesion, while still looking at how some of the reserves will contribute during the season. The team has ten internationals in the starting XV.

NOLA Gold Rugby Head Coach Nate Osborne has shifted the match day leadership as well with Eric Howard captaining the team for this match with Holden Youngert the Vice-Captain.

Midwest Selects Head Coach Philip Payne of Scioto Valley RFC (Columbus Rugby) knows that with NOLA starting 10 internationals that “it will take a true team effort to even keep it close if we can. We hope to play well enough to challenge them, score on them, and maybe keep it close.”

To read about NOLA Gold player profile articles, click on the player’s name below. Articles on NOLA Gold players Billy Stewart and Amro Gouda are in progress.


NOLA Gold Rugby: 1 Hubert Buydens 2 Eric Howard (C) 3 Ben Tarr 4 Billy Stewart 5 Ignacio Dotti 6 Nikola Bursic 7 Kyle Baille 8 Cam Dolan 9 Holden Yungert (VC) 10 Scott Gale 11 JoJo Tikoisuva 12 Cam Foley 13 Taylor Howden 14 Tim Maupin 15 JP Eloff 16 Matt Harmon 17 Cam Falcon 18 Kevin Sullivan 19 Amro Gouda 20 William Waguespack 21 Malcolm May 22 Zack Stryffeler 23 Nick Feakes 24 Michael Baska 25 Shawn Riley

Midwest Selects: 1. Kavika Peniata – Metro 2. Glen Maricelli – Palmer 3. Terry Laursen – Palmer 4. John Luhrsen – Griffins 5. Michael Lawerson – Palmer 6. Osama Shayeb – Palmer 7. Weston Loder – Palmer 8. PJ van Zyl – Columbus 9. Ryan Cochran – Columbus 10. Joel Conzelmann – Griffins 11. Dan Heisterkamp – Wolfhounds 12. Kevin Schmidt – Milwaukee Barbarians 13. Matt Drzewiecki – Milwaukee Barbarians 14. Ehron Enyedy – Tradesman 15. Peter Roy – Palmer 16. Chris Williams – Griffins 17. Jordan Bach – Palmer 18. Michael Kellett – Bombers 19. Issac Hall – Wolfhounds 20. Manuel Aranda – Griffins 22. Mike Houston – Lions 23. Joshua Williams – Lions 24. Dante Cambroni

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant