Major League Rugby 2019 Schedule

Major League Rugby 2019 Schedule

Major League Rugby (MLR) released the 2019 season schedule today (Nov. 7, 2018). The League will have nine teams in year two of the MLR season with the addition of the Toronto Arrows.

MLR teams include “Austin, Houston, Glendale (Colorado), New Orleans, Rugby United New York, San Diego, Seattle, Salt Lake City, and Toronto. Each market has a long history of support for the game of rugby. The members have strong local and civic-minded ownership groups with deep ties to their communities and have established grassroots programs, venues in place or in development, and a player pool featuring the best players in North America, in the 15-player, Rugby Union format.”

Major League Rugby Commissioner, Dean Howes indicated that the season will launch on January 26 with a repeat of the MLR Championship with the Glendale Raptors facing the Seawolves in Seattle. The Seawolves edged the Raptors 23-19 in their last meeting to claim the first-ever Championship Shield. The season will last nineteen weeks and will conclude June 2 before heading into the MLR Championship Series. Scheduling is provided by GotPro, the official scheduling partner of MLR.

Like in season one, CBS Sports Network will feature a highlighted Game of the Week each week. Fans can expect to catch matches outside of CBSSN on ESPN+ and AT&T SportsNet. Official match times are subject to change.

Rugby United New York (RUNY) and the Toronto Arrows will join the second installment of MLR, solidifying a nine-team 2019 season. 2020 will see the additions of Atlanta, Boston and Washington, D.C.

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant