Utah Warriors vs. Houston SaberCats MLR Preview

Utah Warriors & Houston SaberCats

The Utah Warriors conclude their Major League Rugby regular season against the Houston SaberCats at 2 pm MT (4 pm ET) on June 23. The match is at Zions Bank Stadium and will be broadcast locally on AT&T Sports Network, nationally on ESPN+, and internationally on the Major League Rugby Facebook page.

The Warriors need to win, draw, or lose by two or fewer points to gain the playoffs next Saturday, otherwise, Austin Elite Rugby will secure a playoff spot. With a win and a San Diego Legion loss, the Warriors would be the third place team, while a Legion win against the Glendale Raptors, secures third place.

Utah Warriors

Head coach Alf Daniels has made two changes Inn his starters with Maka Tameilau at loosehead prop and Lance Williams at flanker.

The Utah Warriors control their destiny to make Thebes playoffs. The match is expected to be close and the team that makes the fewest mistakes will win.

Houston SaberCats

Head Coach Justin Fitzpatrick team returns from a bye week. Several changes have been made in the starters. Jamie Dever has been missed during the regular season due to visa issues. He was very effective as a starter in the preseason and slots in at loosehead prop. Lindsey Stevens returns at hooker with Lindenwood’s Gabe Romero the reserve instead of Diego Maquieira. Both Connor Murphy and Conor Mills return to their usual positions at scrumhalf and inside center, respectively. Alex Elkins also will start at wing with Josua Vici also not on the 23-man roster.

The SaberCats will play for pride and hope to play spoiler as the Warriors seek the playoffs. It has been a frustrating regular season for the SaberCats with the team contending, but falling short in many matches. The team is a good one and should be a contender next season.

Utah Warriors & Houston SaberCats Squads

Utah Warriors: 1 Maka Tameilau, 2 Lote Tu’ipulotu, 3 Angus MacLellan, 4 John Cullen, 5 Saia Uhila (C), 6 Lance Williams, 7 Ara Elkington, 8 David Tameilau, 9 Joseph Nicholls, 10 Jonny Linehan, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 12 AJ Tu’ineau, 13 Iniki Fa’amausili, 14 Tonata Lauti, 15 Don Pati 16 Ray Forrester, 17 Alex Tucci, 18 Les Soloai, 19 Kenny Scott, 20 Tino Mafi, 21 Josh Anderson, 22 Vernon Ale, 23 Ben Nicholls + Head Coach Alf Daniels

Houston SaberCats: 1 Jamie Dever, 2 Lindsey Stevens, 3 Adam Macklin, 4 Charlie Hewitt, 5 Matt Trouville, 6 Chris Coyle, 7 Cecil Garber, 8 Kyle Sumsion (C), 9 Connor Murphy, 10 Sam Windsor, 11 Malacchi Esdale, 12 Conor Mills, 13 Osea Kolinisau, 14 Alex Elkins, 15 Zach Pangelinan16 Gabe Romero, 17 Petey Hepburn, 18 Jack Riley, 19 Robert Meeson, 20 Chris Parker, 21 Chris Slater, 22 Joey Iosefa, 23 Dan Paul

Utah Warriors Pre-season

Utah Warriors 2018 Major League Rugby Season

Houston SaberCats Pre-Season Record (12-2-2)

Houston SaberCats 2018 Major League Rugby Schedule

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant