Men’s Collegiate All-Americans Sevens

Men’s Collegiate All-Americans Sevens

USA Rugby Release: Lafayette, CO.-  Coaching staff recognizes honorary Men’s Collegiate All Americans Sevens recipients.

These selections are a reflection of the performances that each one of these individuals has put in for his team during the most recent college 7s season. Making this team is no easy feat, and the selection process to whittle down the player pool into this preliminary list was meticulous, to say the least.

The players selected into these squads are done so as recognition for their outstanding performances over the course of this season. This list is just the start of a busy summer for the MCAA7s program. Another selection for the MCAA 7s side to play at the RugbyTown USA 7s will come later this summer. Head Coach Steve Lewis noted, “From this list will be selected an extended squad who will go on to represent the USAR MCAA’s at the prestigious RugbyTown 7’s in Glendale in late August.”

The MCAA program has given a start to some of the most prominent figures in the Men’s national teams, players such as; Madison Hughes, Danny Barrett, and Ben Pinkelman. Lewis is excited at the prospect adding more names to that list, “Coach Macy and I look forward to preparing that team and allowing the nation’s best collegiate players to compete at the top level putting their hands up for full USA honors. The program has seen numerous players graduate “up” over the years and I am confident this year will be no different.”

Across the three teams named for DI, twenty different schools had a player recognized. The program also recognized twenty new faces after a banner year of collegiate sevens in 2017-2018. In D2, Champion Charlotte saw the most players selected, with a total of four, UW Whitewater was close behind them with three players selected.

RugbyTown 7s will be played from August 25-27 in Glendale CO and will pit the best 7s programs from America and beyond against one another. Last year, the All-Americans won the bowl while a development side from Fiji boasting several Olympians took home the cup.

The group of honorary awards can be found below:

1st Team

Ben Broselle UCLA
Mike  Dabulas Penn State
Justin Dunn California
Nick Feakes Lindenwood
Jake Lachina Army
Troy Lockyear California
Connor McNeary Navy
Eric Naposki UCLA
Dmontae Noble Kutztown
Lorenzo Thomas Lindenwood
Duncan Van Schalkwyk Life
Harley Wheeler Life

Second Team

Cian Barry UCLA
Sam Cusano California
Alex Dorrier Indiana
Philip Dalke Navy
Mike Eife Penn State
Jihad Khabir AIC
Deion Mikesell Lindenwood
Noah Niumataiwalu St. Joes
Cristian Rodriguez Lindenwood
Michael Scarcella Iona
Chris Schoeman Lindenwood
Mitch Wilson Life

Honorable Mention

JP Aguirre Lindenwood
Keegan Barnes Kutztown
Tyler Crass Wisconsin
Ollie Engelhart Dartmouth
John Gerard Virginia Tech
Campbell Johnstone Mount St. Mary’s
Kyle Rogers Arizona
Tyler Sousley Indiana
Austin Taefu Grand Canyon
Zachary Tavenner California
Marcus Tupuola Notre Dame College
Cole Zarcone Central Washington


First Team

Michael Basnett  Charlotte
Keegan Frick Norwich
Tyrek Huntley Charlotte
Jack Kieran NC State
Marcus Morrison Bloomsburg
Robbie Sindic UW Whitewater
Levi Van Lanen UW Whitewater

Second Team

Shay Haase UW Whitewater
Ryan Johns Charlotte
John LeFevre Old Dominion
Robert McAloney Principia
Matthew Plott Charlotte
Dylan Ring Hartford
Nate Rolling Norwich


Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant