Men’s Saturday Collegiate Rugby Championship Match Schedule

2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship

USA Sevens Collegiate Rugby Championship Release
Philadelphia, Pa. – May 25, 2018 – In advance of next weekend’s Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship, the men’s Saturday match schedule for the 24-team men’s rugby 7s national championship tournament field has been announced.
The 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship is set for Friday, June 1st through Sunday, June 3rd at Talen Energy Stadium in suburban Philadelphia. Reserved and field level tickets to the “World’s Largest Collegiate Rugby Festival” are available online at Single-day reserved tickets are $90 and field level tickets are $63, and full weekend reserved tickets are $132 and field level tickets are $79.
The schedule for Saturday’s games is as follows:
9:40 a.m.          Field 2             Maryland vs. Navy (Pool F)
9:49 a.m.          Stadium           Army vs. Central Washington (Pool F) – ESPN2
10 a.m.             Field 2             Saint Joseph’s vs. Wisconsin (Pool A)
10 a.m.             Field 1             Lindenwood vs. Mt. St. Mary’s (Pool A)
10:11 a.m.        Stadium            Air Force vs. Notre Dame (Pool D) – ESPN2
10:20 a.m.        Field 2             Indiana vs. South Carolina (Pool B)
10:20 a.m.        Field 1             Arizona vs. Boston College (Pool B)
10:33 a.m.        Stadium           Life vs. Penn State (Pool D) – ESPN2
10:40 a.m.        Field 2             UCLA vs. Virginia Tech (Pool E)
10:40 a.m.        Field 1             Arkansas St. vs. Delaware (Pool E)
10:55 a.m.        Stadium           Dartmouth vs. Iona (Pool C) –  ESPN2
11:17 a.m.        Stadium           Kutztown vs. Temple (Pool C) –  ESPN2
11:39 a.m.        Stadium           Army vs. Navy (Pool F) – ESPN2
12:15 p.m.        Stadium           Central Washington vs. Maryland (Pool F) – ESPN+
12:20 p.m.        Field 2             Notre Dame vs. Penn State (Pool D)
12:20 p.m.        Field 1             Air Force vs. Life (Pool D)
12:35 p.m.        Stadium          Lindenwood vs. Saint Joseph’s (Pool A) – ESPN+
12:55 p.m.        Stadium          Mt. St. Mary’s vs. Wisconsin (Pool A) – ESPN+
1:15 p.m.          Stadium          Arizona vs. Indiana (Pool B) – ESPN+
1:20 p.m.          Field 2            Iona vs. Temple (Pool C)
1:20 p.m.          Field 1            Dartmouth vs. Kutztown (Pool C)
1:35 p.m.          Stadium          Boston College vs. South Carolina (Pool B) – ESPN+
1:55 p.m.          Stadium          Arkansas St. vs. UCLA (Pool E) – ESPN+
2:15 p.m.          Stadium          Army vs. Maryland (Pool A) – ESPN+
2:35 p.m.          Stadium          Mt. St. Mary’s vs. St. Joseph’s (Pool F) – ESPN+
2:55 p.m.          Stadium          Air Force vs. Penn State (Pool D) – ESPN+
3:15 p.m.          Stadium          Dartmouth vs. Temple (Pool C)  –  ESPN+
3:35 p.m.          Stadium          Delaware vs. Virginia Tech (Pool E) – ESPN+
3:55 p.m.          Stadium          Iona vs. Kutztown (Pool C) – ESPN+
4:15 p.m.          Stadium          Arizona vs. South Carolina (Pool B) – ESPN+
4:35 p.m.          Stadium          Boston College vs. Indiana (Pool B) – ESPN+
4:55 p.m.          Stadium          Lindenwood vs. Wisconsin (Pool A) – ESPN+
5:15 p.m.          Stadium          Life vs. Notre Dame (Pool D) – ESPN+
5:35 p.m.          Stadium          Arkansas St. vs. Virginia. Tech (Pool E) – ESPN+
5:55 p.m.          Stadium          Central Washington vs. Navy (Pool F) – ESPN+
6:15 p.m.          Stadium          Delaware vs. UCLA (Pool E) – ESPN+
Sunday’s games begin at 9 a.m. on the Academy Fields adjacent to Talen Energy Stadium, with the championship final slated to start at 4:31 p.m. on ESPNews.
The 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship men’s winner will once again receive the Pete Dawkins Trophy, named after the All-American football standout at West Point won the Heisman Trophy in 1958. Dawkins was a Rhodes Scholar and attended Oxford, where he used his outstanding football skills to make him a star on the Oxford Varsity rugby team, revolutionizing the game in the process.
On Sunday, June 3, retired U.S. Army Lieutenant General H.R. McMaster, most recently the National Security Advisor, will present the Pete Dawkins Trophy to the winner of the 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship.
The men’s most valuable player will receive the Mark Dombroski Most Valuable Player Trophy, named in honor of the late Saint Joseph’s rugby player who passed away in March.
The 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship will be televised live by the ESPN family of networks and will feature the most television and digital coverage in the tournament’s history.
This year marks the eighth consecutive year that the event has been held in Philadelphia and at Talen Energy Stadium. The annual event features not only the nation’s top 24 men’s collegiate rugby 7s teams but also the top 16 women’s teams as well as the Freedom Cup regional competition with a six-team field vying for a spot in next year’s main bracket.  The action also includes the National Small College Rugby Organization national championship and a national high school tournament with both boys’ and girls’ teams.
The three-day rugby event is one of the largest gatherings of collegiate and high school rugby teams in the world. Penn Mutual is in the fourth year of a title sponsorship for the event
The interest in Rugby Sevens (also known as Sevens Rugby) continues to grow after the return to the Olympic Games in 2016, following a 92-year hiatus. The Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship is America’s national sevens championship and serves as the centerpiece of a nationwide effort to build American rugby talent for competition on the International stage. Over the past eight years, the event has produced over 31 players who have gone on to play for the U.S. National teams.
About United World Sports:
United World Sports (UWS) is the largest commercial rugby entity in the United States, and the owner and operator of a growing portfolio of dynamic sports, media and apparel brands including, the USA Sevens Rugby international tournament, the largest professional rugby event in North America and the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship, the premier college 7s rugby championship. Through its apparel division, UWS owns the exclusive North and South American license for Rhino Rugby, one of the world’s leading rugby apparel and equipment brands. UWS also owns and operates, the largest and most widely read media destination dedicated to American rugby. Additional information is available at
About Penn Mutual:
Since 1847, Penn Mutual has been committed to helping people live life with confidence. At the heart of this purpose is the belief that life insurance is central to a sound financial plan. Through our network of trusted advisers, we are dedicated to helping individuals, families and businesses achieve their dreams. Penn Mutual supports its advisers with retirement and investment services through Hornor, Townsend & Kent, Inc. Registered Investment Advisor and wholly owned subsidiary. Member FINRA/SIPC. We are proud to work together in a values-driven and relationship-based culture. Visit Penn Mutual at

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant