Eagles 7s Face Challenging Cape Town 7s 2017 Pool

HSBC World Sevens Series – Cape Town 7s 2017

The United States will be in Pool B at the Cape Town 7s along with New Zealand, Australia, and Spain. The USA went winless at the Dubai 7s and are in 15th place. New Zealand finished 2nd at Dubai, while Australia was 5th and Spain10th. The match will be streamed live on ESPN3 in the United States.

Mike Friday has made one change in his squad from last week’s Dubai 7s. HSBC World Sevens Series 2016-2017 Player of the Year, Perry Baker, suffered a concussion early in the first match against Argentina and was lost for the remainder of the tournament. Naima Fuala’au replaced him for the remainder of the tournament and will continue this week as the 13th man.

Kevon Williams, who had an outstanding tournament at the Silicon Valley 7s, will replace Baker for the Cape Town 7s.

Joe Ravouvou of New Zealand will miss the first three matches after being cited for a high tackle in the Dubai final.

In the other pools, South Africa won the Cup Final 24-12 over New Zealand. Their Pool A squad remains unchanged and includes Kenya, France, and Russia.


England, the reigning Cape Town champions, will head up Pool C against Scotland, Argentina and invitational team Uganda.

Rio 2016 gold medallists and 2015-16 series champions Fiji play Samoa, Canada, and Wales in Pool D.



USA Rugby Men’s Eagles: 1. Carlin Isles 2. Ben Pinkelman 3. Danny Barrett 4. Matai Leuta 5. Joe Schroeder 6. Malon Al Jiboori 7. Folau Niua 8. Maka Unufe 9. Stephen Tomasin 10. Madison Hughes (Captain) 11. Kevon Williams 12. Martin Iosefo 13. Naima Fuala’au

USA Rugby Men’s Eagles Staff: Head Coach – Mike Friday; Assistant Coach – Chris Brown; Physio – Brian Green; Team Analyst – Paul Goulding; Team Manager – Scott Novack

New Zealand: 1 Scott Curry 2 Tim Mikkelson 3 Teddy Stanaway 4 Joe Ravouvou 5 Dylan Collier 6 Vilimoni Koroi 7 Sam Dickson 8 Andrew Knewstubb 9 Regan Ware 10 Kurt Baker 11 Joe Webber 12 Sione Molia 13  Isaac Te Tamaki

Australia: 1 Michael Hood 2 Simon Kennewell 3 Sam Meyers 4 Lewis Holland 5 James Stannard 6 John Porch 7 Tim Anstee 8 Boyd Killingworth 9 Jeral Skelton 10 Ben O’Donnell 11 Maurice Longbottom 12 Lachie Anderson 13 Brandon Quinn

Spain: 1 Thomas Pearce 2 Jake Carter 3 Ignacio Martin 4 Pablo Fontes 5 Manuel Sainz-Trapaga 6 Francisco Hernandez 7 Pol Pla 8 Marcos Poggi 9 Igor Genua 10 Javier de Juan 11 Javier Carrion 12 Alejandro Alonso 13 Jacobo Martin

USA Eagles 7s Pool B Cape Town Sevens
Saturday, Dec. 9 | ESPN3
vs. New Zealand – 5:05 AM ET
vs. Australia – 8:04 AM ET
vs. Spain – 11:50 AM ET

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant