Americas Pacific Challenge – USA Selects vs. Samoa A Preview

Americas Pacific Challenge 2017 will take place on October 7, 11, and 15 at the Estadio Charrúa in Montevideo, Uruguay. After a three day camp in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, the USA Selects traveled to Uruguay to begin this tournament.
The USA Selects will face Samoa A on October 7 at 10:30 ET, Uruguay A on October 11 at 3:30pm ET and conclude the tournament on Oct. 15 against Canada A at 1pm ET. All matches involving the USA will be broadcast live on The Rugby Channel. Other matches will be streamed by World Rugby.

USA Selects

USA Selects Head Coach Scott Lawrence named Peter Malcolm as captain of this young team, with the average age of 23. Malcolm captained the Men’s Collegiate All-Americans against Oxford University on September 16.

Six players will return to the Americas Pacific Challenge squad that finished with a 1-2 record in the 2016 tournament. Alex Maughan, Benjamin Cima, Bryce Campbell, Hanco Germishuys, Jean-Paul Eloff, Chance Wengleski and Matthew Jensen will be part of the 2017 team.

The USA Selects Squad was previewed in an earlier article.

Samoa A

For the Americas Pacific Challenge 2017, the Samoa A team is being coached by former Manu Samoa lock Potu Leavasa. Suamalie Tuiletufuga will captain the team at No. 8.

Players from the Americas Pacific Challenge 2016 tournament, include flankers Mikaele Tapili, Lester Sefo and Joshua Fuimaono, wing  La’aloi Leilua and scrumhalf Melani Matavao .

Both La’aloi Leilua and Elisapeta Alofipo play in the HSBC Sevens Series for Samoa.

Americas Pacific Challenge 2017 – USA Selects & Samoa A Squads

USA Rugby Selects: 1. Alex Maughan 2. Peter Malcom (C) 3. Angus MacClellan 4. Matthew Jensen 5. Brendan Daly (VC) 6. Hanco Germishuys 7. Aladdin Schirmer 8. Jackson Kaka 9. Ruben de Haas 10. Benjamin Cima 11. Zach Pangelinan 12. Bryce Campbell 13. Tim Maupin 14. Mitch Wilson 15. Martini Talapusi

Replacements: 16. Alex Vorster 17. Chance Wenglewski 18. Huluholo Moungaloa 19. Brendan Hardiman 20. Psalm Wooching 21. Holden Yungert 22. Jean-Pierre Eloff 23. Lemoto Filikitonga

Non-Playing Reserves:
Mike McCarthy, Josh Whippy, Kelepi Fifita

Men’s USA Selects Tour Staff:
Head Coach: Scott Lawrence; Ass’t Coaches: JD Stephenson, Scott Murray, James Harrison; Manager: Chris Hanson; Athletic Trainer: Kevin Ng; Team Physician: Alexandra Myers

Samoa A: 1 Rodney Tapu 2 Noel Sanft 3 Tiamo Viliamu 4 Ikifusi Matamu 5 Aukusitano Ulugia 6 Mikaele Tapili 7 Joseph Fuimaono 8 Suamalie Tuiletufuga (C) 9 Ionatana Tino 10 Aukuso Fruean 11 La’aloi Leilaua 12 Kaino Thomsen 13 Tagaloa Fonoti 14 Elisapeta Alofipo 15 Paulo Scanlan

Replacements: 16 Tuaniu Tuaniu 17 Ripine Fualau 18 Setu Enoka 19 Lester Sefo 20 Fili Setu 21 Melani Matavao 22 Ricky Pauli Ene 23 Iafeta Purcell

 Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil, are available on the Webpage or Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant