Ireland vs Japan #WRWC Preview

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

August 12, 2017

Ireland vs Japan #WRWC Preview

The Ireland Women’s team will play Japan tomorrow, August 13 at 5:15pm (12:15pm ET) at the UCD Bowl. The match may be viewed on
Ireland, the 5th ranked team in the world, defeated 6th ranked Australia 19-17 in a thrilling opening day match. Meanwhile, the 14th ranked Japan faced the 4th ranked France, losing 72-14.
Japan has made two changes in their starting XV from their opening 72-14 loss to France. Three replacements are also new in Yui Shiozaki, Ayaka Suzuki and Ai Tasaka.
Japan forwards remain the same as in the first mach against France, with one important exception. Mateitoga Bogidraumainadave at No. 8 was injured in their loss to France and has been replaced by Maki Takano for this match.
In the backs, Riho Kurogi replaces Makiko Tomita at inside center. Tomita was given a three match suspension for a red card during the match against France.
For the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017, Japan hopes to gain valuable experience in playing against non Asian international sides. This is needed for the team to improve.
Ireland is formidable opponent and Japan will hope to improve on their performance against France. Playing before the home crowd for Ireland, Ireland will also see how many of their reserves step up.
Ireland v Japan: 1 Lindsay Peat 2 Cliodhna Moloney 3 Ciara O’Connor 4 Ciara Cooney 5 Sophie Spence 6 Ciara Griffin 7 Ashleigh Baxter 8 Claire Molloy (Captain) 9 Nicole Cronin 10 Nora Stapleton 11 Alison Miller 12 Sene Naoupin 13 Katie Fitzhenry 14 Hannah Tyrrell 15 Mairead Coyne 16 Leah Lyons 17 Ruth O’Reilly 18 Ailis Egan 19 Paula Fitzpatrick 20 Anna Caplice 21 Larissa Muldoon 22 Jeamie Deacon 23 Louise Galvin
Japan v France: 1 Makoto Ebuchi 2 Seina Saito (captain) 3 Saki Minami 4 Aoi Mimura 5 Ayano Sakurai 6 Yuki Sue 7 Ayaka Suzuki 8 Maki Takano 9 Moe Tsukui 10 Minori Yamamoto 11 Honoka Tsutsumi 12 Riho Kurogi 13 Iroha Nagata 14 Eriko Hirano 15 Mayu Shimizu 16 Misaki Suzuki 17 Mizuho Kataoka 18 Maiko Fujimoto 19 Aya Nakajima 20 Yui Shiozaki 21 Yumeno Noda 22 Ayaka Suzuki 23 Ai Tasaka

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant