USA Rugby South Squad for Rugby Americas North Championship

July 17, 2017

USA Rugby South Squad for Rugby Americas North Championship


USA Rugby South Release: Gary Kent, July 17, 2017

On July 29, 2017, the USA Rugby South Men’s Panthers will compete for a World Rugby Championship against the Guyana Rugby Union in Georgetown, Guyana. This will be the third Rugby Americas North (RAN) final for the men in five years. The Panthers won the title in 2013.

This Panther squad is diverse with 17 different teams represented and will be led by Captain Hein Erasmus (Miami Tridents). Regular standouts Zach Miller (North Atlanta) and Matt Hughston (Charlotte) will add stability to the backs and pack respectively.

USA Rugby South salutes all our representatives for the many sacrifices made to achieve this RAN Championship game. Along the way, 66 players have donned the Panther jersey and some have played at every venue – Steve Cappello, Wayne Chermely, David Coleman, Hein Erasmus, Jarrett Gartin, Amro Gouda, and Zach Miller.

The team selected to represent the USA Rugby South Panthers in the RAN final will now have an opportunity to win it all and see their hard work recognized with a World Rugby trophy.

USA v Guyana Preview article

Congratulations to the following on their selection:

Adam Channel Belmont Shore
Alex Nazon Charleston
Amro Gouda Charlotte
Calvin Storey Raleigh
Charlie Hutchings Tampa Bay
Colton Cariaga Life U
Cormac Kenan Southern Pines
David Coleman Birmingham
Hein Erasmus (c) Miami Tridents
Jamal Hadley Augusta
Jarrett Gartin North Atlanta
John Bryant Charleston
Jordan Gunderson Southern Pines
Matt Fontana Atlanta Renegades
Matt Hughston Charlotte
Mikey Sanders Macon
Nathan Ring Nashville
Trey Eason Southern Pines
Shawn Riley Southern Pines
Stephen Cappello Mystic River
Todd Sherer Columbia
Wayne Chermely Knoxville
Zach Miller North Atlanta

Rene Daniel Head Coach USA Rugby South
Francesco Balsas Coach USA Rugby South
Renaldo Arroya Coach Valdosta State U
Pete Redmond Coach Augusta
Sean Borman Medical Rugby Academy of America
Gary Kent Mgr Columbus/Fort Benning
Kevin Kitto President USA Rugby South

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant