Boys HS All-Americans Sweep Canada

July 2, 2017

Boys HS All-Americans Sweep Canada

Doug Coil

The USA HS All Americans East completed a sweep of the Ontario Blues Under-19s 22-17 July 1 at the University of Guelph. This comes after their 26-5 victory June 29th at the same location.

The USA jumped out to a 19-0 lead with a try by Ryan James, a penalty try after a yellow card to Ontario and then another by Trent Rogers. Mike Weir converted two to give the USA the lead.

The Ontario Blues then scored two tries prior to  halftime to make it 19-12.

Ontario narrowed the gap with another try in the second half to make it 19-17. The HS All Americans answered back as Patrick Madden kicked a penalty, and it was 22-17. Soon after play was suspended by thunder and lightning.

After play resumed, there was no additional scoring and the USA was able to leave Ontario with their second win.

HS All-Americans

1. Andy Guhl (Royal Irish, Indiana)
2. Braeden Looper (Phoenix, Arizona)
3. Trent Rogers (Walnut Hills, Ohio)
4. Asa Carter (Union HS, Oklahoma)
5. Steven Benson (Little Rock Jr. Stormers, Arkansas) (VC)
6. Daniel Trump (Fort Hunt, Virginia)
7. Cameron Tompkins (Sumner, Tennessee)
8. Joe Rusert-Cuddy (Palmer HS, 5785 (Colorado))
9. Conor Buckley (Xavier HS, New York) (C)
10. Patrick Madden (University City, Southern California)
11. Jack Bradfield (St. Edward, Celtic Elite, Ohio)
12. Campbell Johnstone (West Carroll, Maryland)
13. Ian Kilcullen (Gonzaga HS, Maryland)
14. Ryan James (Cathedral Catholic HS, Southern California)
15. Eric Naposki-Abdalah (Fairfield Pagasi, Connecticut)

Josh Zamudio (Little Rock Jr. Stormers, Arkansas)
Xavier Doering (St. Thomas Aquinas, KS, Heart of America)
Patrick Poulin (Fort Hunt, Virginia)
Tim Adie (Pike HS, IN, EIRA MW)
Marshall Ney (Royal Irish, IN, EIRA MW)
Tom Stockton (North Carolina)
Mike Weir (Doylestown, Rugby PA)
Isaac Good (Brownsburg, IN, EIRA MW)
Robert Figley (Fort Hunt, Virginia)
Zach Rademacher (Harpeth, Tennessee)

Ontario Blues U19 Men 2017 Roster – Name (School/Club)

  • Nick Martino (St. Joan of Arc SS / Barrie RFC)
  • Jack McRodgers (McMaster University / Aurora Barbarians RFC)
  • Emerson Prior (Trent University / Kingston Panthers RFC)
  • Connor Labbett (Bishops University / Toronto Saracens RFC
  • Alton Howard (Fanshawe College / London St. Georges RFC
  • Jeremy Gamm (Wilfrid Laurier University / Markham Irish RFC)
  • Aidan Foley (Western University / Crusaders RFC)
  • Adam Beaupre (KCVI / Waterloo County RFC)
  • Reece Honey (Fleming College / Peterborough Pagans RFC)
  • Owain Ruttan (University of British Columbia / Cobourg Saxons RFC)
  • Callum Tam (Oakville Trafalgar HS / Crusaders RFC)
  • Henry Stevenson (Royal St. George’s College / Toronto Nomads RFC)
  • Evan Whiteford (LCVI / Lindsay Griffins RFC)
  • Michael Nwabufo (McGill University / Bytown Blues RFC)
  • Andrew Wilson (Erindale SS / Crusaders RFC)
  • Josh Engelbrecht (Oakville Trafalgar HS / Crusaders RFC)
  • Carter Bondy (Eden HS / Niagara Wasps RFC)
  • Puwayi Chinoda (University of Manitoba / Oshawa Vikings RFC)
  • Kevin Perera (McMaster University / Crusaders RFC)
  • Josh Andrews (Regiopolis Notre Dame / Kingston Panthers RFC)
  • Miguel-Fabian Palij (Pierre Elliott Trudeau SS / Markham Irish RFC)
  • Ethan Hager (Brantford Harlequins RFC)
  • Gabe Casey (Napean HS / Bytown Blues RFC)
  • James Hammond (Toronto Nomads RFC)


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant