Women’s Premier League 2017 Schedule

May 17, 2017

Women’s Premier League 2017 Schedule


Doug Coil

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) announced the schedule for the Fall 2017 season. The Fall 2017 season will begin Labor Day weekend with matches in Minnesota, Illinois, Massachusetts, and California. The season will last for ten weeks culminating with the National Championship at the Kino Sports Complex in Tucson, Arizona, Nov. 10-12, 2017.

This Fall, the League has expanded from eight to ten teams. The Western Blue Conference is comprised of Chicago North Shore, Berkeley All Blues, Glendale Raptors, Oregon Sports Union, and San Diego Surfers. The Eastern Red Conference includes Beantown Rugby, Atlanta Harlequins, DC Furies, New York Rugby, and Twin Cities Amazons. Within each Conference, teams will play each other twice, The top two teams from each conference will play in the semi-finals, while the others will play in a Bowl competition.

The WPL season will begin after the conclusion of the Women’s Rugby World Cup  2017 in Ireland. While many of the Women Eagles recover, opportunities will exist for recent College graduates and transfers from other clubs to compete in the highest level of women’s club rugby in the United States.

USA Rugby Women’s Eagles Head Coach Pete Steinberg indicated that “The recent college championships demonstrated an increase in skill and level of play that was exciting. These are players that started playing the game in high school, developed their skills in college, and now their next step is into the club game. The WPL represents the highest level of play in the U.S. and this fall there is a great opportunity for recent graduates to step up as part of their development.”

A new custom web page, wplrugby.org, is being launched and WPL news will be available on  Facebook and Twitter. Full matches will also be posted on the WPL Rugby Youtube playlist.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant