Ireland Rugby Squad Named for USA & Japan

May 16, 2017

Ireland Rugby Squad Named for USA & Japan


Doug Coil

Ireland has selected a 31 person squad for the June tests against the United States and Japan, with an additional player to be added to the squad following next weekend’s provincial fixtures. This includes eight uncapped players, John Cooney, Dave Heffernan, Rory O’Loughlin, Andrew Porter, James Ryan, Rory Scannell, Jacob Stockdale and Kieran Treadwell.

Ireland will begin their June tests against the USA Men’s Eagles at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey on June 10. They then travel to Japan for two tests on June 17 at Ecopa Stadium in Shizuoka on Saturday, June 17, with the final test at the Ajinomoto Stadium in Tokyo on Saturday, June 24.

Ireland will be without 11 players that are part of the 2017 British & Lions Lions tour to New Zealand. The British & Irish Lions include the forwards Rory Best, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Jack McGrath, Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahoney, and CJ Stander from Ireland. Backs included are Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray, Jared Payne, and Jonathan Sexton.

Ireland June 2017 Test Squad

Forwards: 18

  • Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 6 caps
  • Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 1 cap
  • Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 67 caps
  • Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
  • Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 17 caps
  • Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
  • Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps
  • Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster) 1 cap
  • Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) *
  • Quinn Roux (Connacht) 1 cap
  • Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 13 caps
  • James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) *
  • John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6 caps
  • Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 4 caps
  • Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 47 caps
  • James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
  • Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) *
  • Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps

Backs: 14

  • Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 3 caps
  • Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 1 cap
  • John Cooney (Connacht) *
  • Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 59 caps
  • Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 23 caps
  • Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 13 caps
  • Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) 9 caps
  • Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 1 cap
  • Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps
  • Rory O’Loughlin (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
  • Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps
  • Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) *
  • Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
  • Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 33 caps



About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant