Rugby World Cup 2019 Draw

May 10, 2017

Rugby World Cup 2019 Draw


Doug Coil

The draw for the Rugby World Cup 2019 that will be held in Japan was held earlier this morning. The USA Men’s Eagles could end up in three possible pools.

Should the USA beat Canada this summer, they will qualify at the Americas 1 and be in Pool C along with England, France, Argentina and Oceania 2. The later could be either Fiji, Samoa or Tonga.

If the USA loses to Canada this summer, then they would need to qualify as the Americas 2 where they would likely play Uruguay. This would place them in Pool B along with Australia, Wales, Georgia and Oceania 1, likely Fiji.

The last chance would require losses to both Canada and Uruguay and then winning the repechage. That would place them in Pool B along with New Zealand, South Africa, Italy and Africa 1, likely Namibia.

In the quarter-finals, the Pool A winner will face the Pool B runner-up, the Pool B winner the Pool A runner-up, the Pool C winner the Pool D runner-up and the Pool D winner the Pool C runner-up.

To understand the qualifying process, click here.

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, Play-off winner
Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, Repechage winner
Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2
Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant