D1A Rugby Playoff Field Set

April 10, 2017

D1A Rugby Playoff Field Set


Photo Credit: Connie Hatfield (left), Karen Drinkwater (middle) & Norma Salinas (right)

Doug Coil

The 2017 D1A Rugby Playoffs begin Saturday, April 15. This will be followed by the Quarterfinals on April 22, the Semi-Finals on April 29 and the D1A Rugby National Championship on May 6 at Saint Mary’s College. The Final will be televised live on the CBS Sports Network.

The four highest seeded teams accepting bids, Saint Mary’s (California), Life (Mid-South), Indiana (Big Ten Universities) and Baylor (Red River), were given byes and will host Quarterfinal matches on April 22.

PAC Rugby Conference champion Cal will not participate in the playoffs, while No. 18 Air Force and will host an opening round match as the lowest ranked conference champion.

The opening round matches on April 15 will see No.9 San Diego State hosting No.11 Utah with the winner traveling to meet the No.1 Saint Mary’s Gaels on April 22.

Air Force will host Arizona in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Four teams played each other on April 8 and instead of the teams meeting again on April 15, the teams used those results for advancing to the Quarterfinals.

On April 8th, Brigham Young beat Colorado State 93-3, while Lindenwood beat Davenport 36-14. BYU will travel to meet Indiana and Lindenwood will be away at Life on April 22.

D1A Rugby Commissioner Kevin Battle explained that “As it turned out, two of our first round matchups were already competing against each other the previous weekend. Being sensitive to travel costs, the teams involved agreed to let these past weekend’s matches serve as their opening round playoff game.”

The four conference champions deserving of an opening round bye will host their April 22 Quarterfinal and the two highest remaining teams will play hosts for the April 29 Semifinals.

The two teams that remain after the Semi-Finals will move to the May 6 D1A Rugby National Championship and the coverage provided by CBS Sports Network scheduled to kick off at 4 p.m. PT.

April 15 Opening Round

BYU 93 – 3 Colorado State (4/8)
Lindenwood 36 – 14 Davenport (4/8)
Utah @ San Diego State
Arizona @ Air Force

April 22 Quarterfinals

Game #5 SDSU/Utah @ Saint Mary’s
Game #6 Air Force/Arizona @ Baylor
Game #7 BYU @ Indiana
Game #8 Lindenwood @ Life

April 29 Semifinals

Winner Game #5 vs. Winner Game #6
Winner Game #7 vs. Winner Game #8

May 6 D1A Rugby National Championship

Saint Mary’s College – LIVE on CBS Sports – 4 p.m. PT


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant