Sudamérica Women’s Sevens: Brazil Gold, Argentina to USA Sevens & Hong Kong Qualifier + Colombia

February 19, 2017

Sudamérica Women’s Sevens: Brazil Gold, Argentina to USA Sevens & Hong Kong + Colombia


Doug Coil

The Sudamérica Women’s Rugby Sevens tournament is being be held at the Carlos Paz Rugby Club, Córdoba, Argentina on February 18-19, 2017. As a result of last year’s tournament, the seeding for this event is as follows: Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Venezuela, Paraguay, Chile, Peru and Uruguay.

Since its inception in 2004, Brazil has won the championship thirteen times. Brazil is already on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, so the winner of this tournament, excepting Brazil, will also be the invitational side to the Las Vegas Sevens on March 3-5 and also to the Hong Kong Sevens Qualifier April 7-9 along with the second place team.

On day one, all the top seeds won their matches, except for first match of the day as Paraguay beat Venezuela 10-5. Brazil, which competes on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series, is expected to win the Sudamérica Women’s Rugby Sevens Championship, with Argentina and Colombia challenging. Still rugby still needs to be played and results are not always as planned.

In day two, Brazil beat Argentina in the Gold Final, but Argentina by making it to the Gold Final, will go to the USA Sevens in Las Vegas, Nevada and to the Hong Kong Sevens Qualifying tournament. Brazil is already in the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

In the Silver Final, Colombia beat Paraguay, earning a trip to the Hong Kong Sevens Qualifier Tournament along with Argentina.

Venezuela won the Bronze Final over Chile, and Peru won 7th Place over Uruguay.

Read the Sudamérica Women’s Rugby Sevens Preview. and Day One Recap.


  • A: Brazil, Venezuela, Paraguay, Uruguay
  • B: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru

Saturday, Feb. 18 – Sudamérica Women’s Rugby Sevens Pool Play  (local time is 2 hours earlier than ET)  The match was streamed by CPTV Carlos Paz.

  • 13:00 Venezuela v Paraguay 5-10
  • 13:22 Brazil v Uruguay 45-0
  • 13:44 Colombia v Chile 38-7
  • 14:06 Argentina v Peru 31-10
  • 15:30 Venezuela v Uruguay 37-0
  • 15:52 Brazil v Paraguay 45-0
  • 16:14 Colombia v Peru 31-7
  • 16:36 Argentina v Chile 29-0
  • 17:45 Paraguay v Uruguay 46-0
  • 18:07 Brazil v Venezuela 31-0
  • 18:29 Chile v Peru 21-0
  • 18:51 Argentina v Colombia 17-0

Sunday, Feb. 19 (Gold Final at 18:51)

  • QFs: Paraguay v Chile 0-22
  • QFs: Argentina v Uruguay 29-7
  • QFs: Colombia v Venezuela 10-7
  • QFs: Brazil v Perú 53-0
  • Gold SF: Chile v Argentina 0-36
  • Gold SF Colombia v Brazil 0-32
  • Bronze SF Chile v Uruguay 14-0
  • Bronze SF Venezuela v Peru 27-10
  • 7th/8th Uruguay v Peru 0-24
  • Bronze Final Chile v Venezuela 0-24
  • Silver Final Paraguay v Colombia 0-5
  • Gold Final Argentina v Brazil 12-31

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant