USA Women’s Falcons to Play in Okinawa Rugby Sevens

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

February 15, 2017

USA Women’s Falcons to Play in Okinawa Rugby Sevens


Photo: Okinawa Sevens

Doug Coil

The Okinawa Sevens is an international women’s rugby event that will be held at Zampa Ball Park near Torii Station in Nakagami, Okinawa on Feb. 18 and 19. The tournament will consist of six teams from Japan, Australia, France, Netherlands and the United States that will compete in round-robin style tournament, with the 5th, 3rd and championship matches held Feb. 19.

The players competing in this tournament represent their national teams or developmental teams. The tournament also exposes the women to more high performance opportunities as they continue the rugby sevens season and prepare for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2018 or the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

Okinawa Sevens
Date: Feb. 18 – 19
Location: Zampa Ball Park near Torii Station (1885 Uza, Yomitan village, Nakagami, Okinawa 904-0328)
Admission: Free

Day 1- Feb. 18 (Sat.)
9 a.m. – Australia vs. Japan B
9:30 a.m. – USA vs. Japan A
10 a.m. – France vs. Netherlands
Noon – Australia vs. Japan A
12:30 p.m. – Netherlands vs. Japan B
1 p.m. – USA vs. France
3 p.m. – Australia vs. Netherlands
3: 30 p.m. – France vs. Japan A
4 p.m. – USA vs. Japan B

Day 2 – Feb. 19 (Sun.)
9 a.m. – Australia vs. France
9:30 a.m. – USA vs. Netherlands
10 a.m. – Japan A vs. Japan B
11:30 a.m. – Australia vs. USA
Noon – France vs. Japan B
12:30 p.m. – Netherlands vs. Japan A
3 p.m. – Fifth-place match
3:30 p.m. – Third-place match
4 p.m. – Final



About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant