Central Coast Sevens Tournament Teams

September 26, 2016

Central Coast Sevens Tournament Teams


Photo: Central Coast Sevens

Doug Coil

The UON Central Coast Sevens is Australia’s premier rugby sevens festival outside of the HSBC World Sevens Series.It features some of the strongest international sevens teams in the world.

The Central Coast Sevens is one of the world’s most prestigious rugby sevens tournaments and features national teams and invitational teams. It is also one of the toughest invitational tournaments in the world to win.

With the HSBC World Sevens Series beginning in December, it is a perfect tuneup for teams in preparation for the sevens season.

The Central Coast Sevens will take place on October 21-23, 2016. Day one, features a youth single day tournament. The men’s and women’s tournaments take place October 22 with pool play and the finals the next day. The tournament is being held at the Wyong Rugby league Club, 40 Lake Haven Dr., Kanwal, NSW, Australia.

The matches will be streamed live by BarTV.

Men’s Teams

  • Australian National Sevens Team
  • Canada Maple Leafs (Canada National Team)
  • Tabadamu (Fiji) – 2016 Runner Up
  • Hideaway Hurricanes (Fiji)
  • NSW Waratahs (Australia)
  • ACT Brumbies (Australia)
  • Uluinakau (Fiji)
  • Toloa Old Boys (Tonga) – Tongan National 7s Champions
  • Northern Suburbs (Sydney, Australia) – 2013 Champions
  • National Indigenous (Australia)
  • Australian National Development Team
  • Ratu Filise (Fiji)
  • Daveta (Fiji) – 2014 Champions, World Club 7s Champions
  • Wellington (New Zealand)
  • Police (Fiji) – Fiji Coral Coast Sevens Champions
  • TBA

Women’s Team

  • Australian National Sevens Team – 2016 Gold Medalist Rio Olympics
  • WRR Ravens (International Invitational Team)
  • Japan (National Team – Rio Olympics)
  • Nadi Blazers (Fiji) – Samoa Independence 7s Champions
  • Cook Islands (National Team)
  • ACT Brumbies (Australia) – Provincial Representative Team
  • New Zealand Wasps (New Zealand) – New Zealand Invitational Team
  • Stars Rugby 7s (USA) Invitational Team
  • Sunnybank Rugby (Queensland, Australia) 2012 Champions
  • National Indigenous (Australia)
  • Australia National Development Team
  • Sydney University (Sydney, Australia) Sydney women’s Premier Rugby Champions
  • Avoca Beach (Central Coast, Australia) Club/Invitational Team
  • Hunter Women (Hunter, Australia) Regional Representative Team
  • TBA
  • TBA


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant