Midwest Men’s & Women’s Club 7s Championship

July 28, 2016

Midwest Men’s & Women’s Club 7s Championship


Doug Coil

The Midwest Sevens Championship will be hosted by the Chicago Blaze this Saturday July 30 in Chicago, Illinois. The two Finalists will secure places in the National Championships at Dicks Sports Good Park in Commerce City, Colorado on August 13-14th.

The top four men’s teams from the East and the top four teams from the West Qualifier Groups will compete in the Midwest RFU Sevens Championship Tournament to determine the Teams which will advance to the National Championships.

The Midwest East had three qualifiers, Cin City 7s, Rock’n Roll 7s and the Rock Hard 7s. After those qualifiers, the top four seeds were 1823 A (36pts), Cincinnati Wolfhounds A (30), Cleveland Crusaders A (28) and 1823 B (26).

The Midwest West had three qualifiers, Madtown 7s, Minnesota 7s and Ducks 7s. After those qualifiers, the top four seeds were Chicago Lions (36pts), Chicago Blaze (30), Milwaukee Barbarians (27) and Metropolis 1 (26).

Midwest Women’s Sevens Championship

The Midwest women’s sevens had four qualifiers, the Madtown 7s, Rock’n Roll 7s, Ducks 7s and Rock Hard 7s. After those qualifiers, the standings were 1823 (33pts), Chicago Griffins (32), Youngbloodz A (31), Grand Rapids (28), Cincinnati (28), Chicago Lions (26), Youngbloodz B (11), University of Iowa (9), Legacy (8) and Cincinnati B (7).

The Midwest Sevens Tournament was slated to be the top six clubs, but Grand Rapids will not be competing, so the schedule will be a round robin tournament. After the round robin round teams will be seeded with the top four teams playing. The two Finalists will go to Nationals.

Midwest Sevens Championship Schedule & Poolsimage

image 2


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant