Rugby World Cup Lineups: New Zealand v Georgia

September 30, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: New Zealand v Georgia


Doug Coil

October 2, 2015

New Zealand v Georgia, Pool C, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales, Kick off 20:00 – 3pm ET

Referee: Pascal Gauzere; Assistant Referee: Angus Gardner, Mathieu Raynal; TV Match Official: Shaun Veldsman

The All Blacks will have Waisake Naholo at wing making his Rugby World Cup debut. Four players were not available due to injury, Ma’a Nonu, Colin Slade, Liam Messam, and Beauden Barrett. Still they will field a very experienced side with ten changes from the Namibia match.

Georgia has selected their most experienced test side, with 655 caps, to play New Zealand. The starting XV features 10 changes from the side that lost to Argentina. The entire forwards change with the exception of captain Mamuka Gorgodze, who moves to Flanker instead of number 8.

Lasha Lomidze and Beka Tsiklauri make their Rugby World Cup debuts at scrum-half and full-back, while Alexandr Todua starts on wing in RWC action for the first time since 2011. Merab Kvirikashvili was not selected for the first time in his RWC career as a starter.

New Zealand Ranked 1st: HC  Steve Hansen Starters: 1. Wyatt Crockett 2. Dane Coles 3. Charlie Faumuina 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Jerome Kaino 7. Richie McCaw (c) 8. Kieran Read 9. Aaron Smith 10. Daniel Carter 11. Julian Savea 12. Sonny Bill Williams 13. Conrad Smith 14. Waisake Naholo 15. Ben Smith Replacements: 16. Keven Mealamu 17. Tony Woodcock 18. Owen Franks 19. Victor Vito 20. Sam Cane 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow 22. TJ Perenara 23. Malakai Fekitoa

Georgia Ranked 15th: HC  Milton Haig Starters: 1 Karlen Asieshvili 2 Shalva Mamukashvili 3 Levan Chilachava 4 Levan Datunashvili 5 Giorgi Chkhaidze 6 Shalva Sutiashvili 7 Mamuka Gorgodze (c) 8 Lasha Lomidze 9 Giorgi Begadze 10 Lasha Malaguradze 11 Alexandr Todua 12 Tamaz Mchedlidze 13 David Kacharava 14 Giorgi Aptsiauri  15 Beka Tsiklauri Replacements: 16 Simon Maisuradze 17 Mikheil Nariashvili 18 Anton Peikrishvili 19 Konstantine Mikautadze 20 Viktor Kolelishvili 21 Vasil Lobzhanidze 22 Merab Sharikadze 23 Murazi Giorgadze


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant